Edinburgh Book Festival Story Shop 2012

Happy International Short Story Day! On this wondrous day, I am thrilled to announce that I will be appearing at Story Shop 2012 at the Edinburgh Book Festival in August. The lovely creatures at Edinburgh City of Literature have selected a ‘Super 17’ group of story shoppers, and I’m looking forward to meeting them all. I am also really pleased that some of my fellow Napier Creative Writing MA creatures are a part of that group: Matthew Nadelhaft, Catherine Simpson, and Sean Martin.

I’m very excited. It will be a wonderful experience to be taking part in the Edinburgh Book Festival, as well as roaming around attending all the other wonderful things on offer. You might just possibly see me wielding a glass of wine and saying “Daaaaaahling!” a lot. More likely, I’ll be a gibbering nervous wreck. I’m going to have to practice my little socks off. I’ve already planned to corner various groups of friends to practice on them, and Edinburgh City of Literature offer a training workshop, so come August I should be Story Shopper extraordinaire! Well, that’s the plan. The nightmarish scenario in my head is: drinking too much wine, falling on my face, mumbling my way through the story, and throwing up on some illustrious author. I will have to practice not drinking wine, not falling on my face, not mumbling, and not throwing up on anyone. It’ll be hard, but I’ll try.

On another note, I’m currently reading The Flame Alphabet, which has the intriguing premise of language being poisonous. A little review will come soon.
I’m also currently obsessed with Cronenberg’s Cosmopolis. I can’t get it out of my head, so once I get my hands on the Don DeLillo book, a review will be whirling its way to this bloody and forgotten wall.

Before I go, seeing as it’s International Short Story Day, I will share my top four short stories with you lovely bookworm creatures. In no particular order, they are:

Angela Carter’s The Erl King, Shirley Jackson’s The Witch, Saki’s Sredni Vashtar, and Hemingway’s A Clean, Well-Lighted Place.

What are your favourite short stories?

Shirley Jackson short story collection
Jackson’s wonderful collection of short stories
6 thoughts on “Edinburgh Book Festival Story Shop 2012

  1. Very much look forward to your readings. favourite short stories of mine include adventure of a reader by Italo Calvino, Appointment with Einstein by Dino Buzati, Hand Carved Coffins by Truman Capote. Thanks.

  2. I love Christopher Fowler’s book Sharper Knives, particularly the stories On Edge and Dale and Wayne go Shopping. I like me a bit of horror.

Leave a Reply

