News from the Dream World

I’ve been away from this world for a while, as I’ve been stupidly busy. As well as doing VERY IMPORTANT THINGS, ‘stupidly busy’ also involved blissful boat trips, fire on the beach birthday celebrations, and snoozing in the sun like an old woman on the back step of my friends’ home in North Queensferry. I really did get writer related things done in-between all that, I promise you.

My story ‘The Book Lover’ appeared as a part of the Festival of the Erotic Arts in Edinburgh. Here’s a review from Smu, with the best quote ever: “If The Book Lover were burlesque it would be the pulling glitter out of it’s arse kind not the awkward fan dance in perfect lipstick and lacy knickers kind.” And a review from Ser: “primeval, cosmic, fleshy.”
There’s still a handful of limited edition copies left, so if you’d like a copy just holler my way.

Limited edition copies of the The Book Lover, designed by Cinnamon Curtis

My story ‘Pure’, based on the Frankie and Johnny ballad, is in New Writing Scotland 30, and it’s available to pre-order. I wrote it for an assignment during the Creative Writing Masters at Napier.

The lovely Angel from Wily Writers is editor on the kickstart horror anthology, ‘Deep Cuts’. If you’d like to donate, please do! It looks like a great project. And if you want to submit a short story, you can find more information here. As well as a horror story, they are also calling for a short ode to your favourite female horror writer, which I think is a fabulous idea, and will open up a whole world of new writers to discover.

August is looking to be a pretty mental month. It is of course festival time in Edinburgh, and I have clutched in my hand a whole pile of Book Festival tickets, which makes me very happy. As I excitedly told you, I will be reading at the Book Fest, as a part of the Edinburgh City of Literature Story Shop events. My date is Wed 22nd August at 4pm in the Spiegeltent, so get that date in your diary and pop along.
So far, I haven’t booked much in the way of Fringe events, as I’ll practically be living in Charlotte Square, but I’m really looking forward to seeing the amazing Henry Rollins. I had the pleasure of seeing him last year, and it was a wonderful evening.

Also, this! Fantastic news that we will have equal marriage in Scotland! I might just have to have a glass of sparkly to celebrate.

drifting clouds over Inchcolm island
Leave a Reply

