Pure

Shortly after I posted yesterday’s blog, I heard the clatter of the letterbox and the thud of a heavy parcel – my contributor copy of New Writing Scotland had arrived! And it is a beautiful thing. I am so pleased to have my story included in this anthology, which has a mix of emerging writers like myself, and established writers such as Lin Anderson and Alasdair Gray. I am very much looking forward to reading it.

My story, ‘Pure’ is based on the Frankie and Johnny ballad. You can order your copy of NWS 30 here.

On another note, I attended the Story Shop 2012 public reading masterclass yesterday afternoon. It was great to meet the other story shoppers, and the brilliant and frightening Alex Gillon whipped us all into shape. Mostly by yelling “BREATHE!” at us. Which is a lot more helpful than it might sound. I will tell you more soon, as I spend August putting her tips to good use, and practicing like a mad thing.

Leave a Reply

