Re-animator The Musical

 

I recently wrote a piece for the Scottish Book Trust’s My Favourite Place on the magical St Conan’s, but if I had to choose a favourite place during Edinburgh festival madness in August (sorry, Book Fest), it would have to be Re-animator The Musical’s Splatter Zone.

My favourite horror film is Re-animator, and I have to admit when I first heard about the musical version I was sceptical, having been burned by fringe shows of favourite films in the past (Hedwig). But after a recommendation by a friend, and watching the fantastic trailer, I knew I had to go.

 

Ever, Cinn, and Ser rockin our ponchos in the Splatter Zone
Ever, Cinn, and Ser rockin our ponchos in the Splatter Zone
(photo by Ser)

 

And it was amazing. It’s directed by Stuart Gordon (who, for those of you who don’t know, was responsible for the film), so it was in safe hands. The cast was perfect, and they all looked like they were loving every minute. Graham Skipper was particularly well cast as Herbert West and gave a brilliantly camp and demented performance (and to think I didn’t believe anyone could do it as well as the illustrious Jeffrey Combs).

 

Ever and Graham Skipper after the show
Ever, photo bomber, and Graham Skipper after the show
(photo by Cinn)

I experienced such joy and mischievous glee during the show. It was fun, camp, and deliciously gruesome. And a little sticky. By the end of the second show I had brain bits in my bra and my white dress had turned pink.

I would have happily gone several times, and I really hope it returns.

One thought on “Re-animator The Musical

Leave a Reply

