See Us – Celebrating Creativity in Scotland

IMP_0280

From over 4,000 entries, my photograph ‘Green Dream’ (featuring fashion designer and model Rachael Forbes) was chosen to be included in the ‘See Us’ book.

Blipfoto and Creative Scotland coordinated the production of ‘See Us’, an exhibition and book celebrating creativity in Scotland. The exhibition is on at Creative Scotland headquarters in Edinburgh until the end of May and moves to Streetlevel in Glasgow at the beginning of June – pop along and be inspired by the creative delights!

My entry in the book includes a piece on my inspiration behind the photograph:

“Scotland is a vibrant and creative country, and I have the privilege of being friends with many immensely talented and creative people. One of these people is fashion designer Rachael Forbes. I gave Rachael the nickname ‘Ms Dream’ because of her dreamy quality. She’s a walking work of art, always dressed flamboyantly, gliding through the streets of Edinburgh like a glittering apparition. As well as being one of the loveliest people I know, Rachael is extremely talented and a hard worker. When I’m procrastinating, just thinking about her industriousness inspires and encourages me.

She set up a successful business, The Imaginarium Apparel, after graduating with a First in Costume Design at Edinburgh College of Art. Her exquisite designs delight my senses, sending my imagination into overdrive. Rachael, and her Anisoptera creation, contributed to the character of the mysterious Lizard Queen in ‘Goblin’, the novel I’m writing. Her own inspirations can be found in the world of insects and amphibians, and I chose to photograph Dream nestled amongst the natural beauty of leaves to highlight the influence the Scottish landscape has on her creativity.”

2013-04-21_02_31_09

2013-04-21_02_37_10

2 thoughts on “See Us – Celebrating Creativity in Scotland

Leave a Reply

