2017

2010-12-09-northern-lights
Northern Lights by Cinnamon Curtis (cinn.armadillodesigns.co.uk)

Greetings, creatures! A happy new year to you.

2016 was a busy year for me – working with an editor on my novel after securing a publisher, editing and sending out stories, and working on my second novel. Shelley Day (whose debut novel Stella Moon was out last year) introduced me to Victoria who kindly hosted my Year In Review on her blog.

To kick off 2017, the lovely editors over at Aethor and Ichor have published my story Northern Lights (which first appeared on Inkitt). Northern Lights was first written in 2010 in response to the grief experienced when our 18 year old cat, Jabba, died. She was part of our family, and it can be hard to express how important she is to us when some people have the attitude that she was “just a cat.” She was ‘just’ a cat, but that was more than enough.

evs-jabba
Ever and the illustrious Jabba Jones

 

In the spring, Oldstyle Tales Press will be publishing my Venice horror story, Biagio Cargnio, in their Yellow Booke. And my office satire/body horror story Miss West’s Requisitions will be published in Mortis -Abominations by Four Horsemen Press. My short story version of aspects of my novel-in-progress, HellSans, will appear in Gutter Magazine (16) in Spring 2017.

Sadly, The Queen’s Head will be no more by the end of the month, so this is your last chance to read my sci-fi body horror Wire. I had the pleasure of doing an interview with QH editor Ryan Vance and he asked very insightful questions, so I’ll be posting the Q&A here in the next couple of weeks.

I’m in the middle of writing a creative non-fiction piece on disability, so HellSans is currently on hold, but I should be getting back to it in April.

My main focus of this year will be the release of my debut novel Goblin on 18th May. Details of a launch will follow soon, and I’ll be unveiling the striking cover shortly.

Leave a Reply

